‘Yu Yu Hakusho’ 30th Anniversary Blu-ray Box Set Announced!

For more upcoming news & reviews, then give a follow/subscribe:

It’s going to be an incredible New Year for anime fans this coming January as Crunchyroll will be releasing several popular series arriving on Blu-ray, including Yu Yu Hakusho, The Stranger by the Shore, Obey Me, One Piece, Black Clover, and more!

In celebration of the 30th anniversary of Yu Yu Hakusho, from its original airing on October 10, 1992, Crunchyroll will be releasing a special Blu-ray box set of the complete series on January 31, 2023. The Yu Yu Hakusho 30th Anniversary Blu-ray Box Set will include special anniversary artwork, all four seasons (Episodes 1 – 112), two never-before-dubbed OVAs with the original cast, and over 90-minutes of special features.

Additionally, The Stranger by the Shore, which debuted in Japanese cinemas in 2020 and debuted in North America on Funimation in 2021, will be released for the first time on as a Limited Edition Blu-ray on January 24, 2023. The Blu-ray will be housed within a collector’s case with an exclusive artbook.

Yu Yu Hakusho – 30th Anniversary Box Set

From cutting classes to brawling in the streets, Yusuke Urameshi is not your typical role model. In fact, this kid’s nothing more than a fourteen-year-old delinquent with a talent for trouble. But in a single selfless act Yusuke dies while saving another. For such noble sacrifice he is given a second chance at life, but it’s to be a life far different than the one left behind. Now a Spirit Detective, the young man must track down demons and humans alike who desire to rule over the three realms of reality.

  • Yu Yu Hakusho – 30th Anniversary Box Set Exclusives
    • 30th Anniversary artwork
    • Two Never-Before-Dubbed OVAs
  • Yu Yu Hakusho – 30th Anniversary Box Set Special Features
    • Yu Yu Hakusho: Looking Back at a Legacy
    • Yu Yu Hakusho: Behind the Design
    • Yu Yu Hakusho Trading Card Game Revisited
    • Episode 63 Video Commentary
    • Episode 99 Remixing Yu Yu Hakusho (2011)
    • Episode 108 Actor Commentary (2011)
    • Episode 110 ADR & Mixing Commentary (2003)
    • Episode 110 Supporting Cast Commentary (2003)
    • Episode 111 Writer Commentary (2003)
    • Episode 111 Outtakes & Foul-ups (2003)
    • Episode 112 Leading Cast Commentary (2003)
    • Episode 112 Memoirs of Yu Yu Hakusho (2003)
    • Textless Opening and Ending Songs

Check out the full January 2023 home video release calendar from Crunchyroll below:

(Release schedule is subject to change)

January 3, 2023

January 10, 2023

January 17, 2023

January 24, 2023

January 31, 2023

All titles mentioned above are now available for pre-order and also can be streamed on Crunchyroll. Visit the Crunchyroll Store for more home video offerings. 



Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Leave a Reply